Woman of Valor Award

The Greater Miami Section created this award in 1998 at the recommendation of the Public Affairs Committee to honor women of our community for their outstanding leadership in advocacy and public affairs.

2013   Constance Collins for her dedication to Lotus House and its mission
2012   Jill Tavlin Swartz for leadership and dedication to improving the lives of women, children, and families
2011   Lilian Tamayo for her leadership in reproductive rights and justice
2010  Cori Flam Meltzer and Leslie M. Saiontz for their leadership in education
2009  Myra Farr for seventy (70) years of community leadership
2008  Maritza Ejenbaum and Karen Fryd for their efforts on behalf of the underserved
2007  Carol Cohan and Barbara Gaynor for their efforts on behalf of contraceptive access
2006  Claudia Kitchens and Rachel Sapoznik for their efforts empowering women
2005  Judy Gilbert-Gould and Claudia Potamkin for their efforts on behalf of the elderly
2004  Daniella Levine & Rabbi Gayle Pomerantz for their efforts on behalf of grassroots advocacy
2003  Jennifer Valoppi & Eileen Nexer Brown for their efforts on behalf of at-risk teenage girls
2002  Sally Kestin & Rosie O’Donnell for their efforts on behalf of foster care & adoption
2001  The Hon. Cindy Lerner & Dr. Lynn Leight for their efforts to promote women’s health & choice
2000  The Hon. Sally Heyman & Dr. Judy Schaechter for their efforts on gun safety and gun control
1999  The Hon.Cindy Lederman & Berta Blecke for their efforts on behalf of children
1998  The Hon. Amy Karan & The Hon. Katherine Fernandez Rundle for their efforts to fight domestic violence